Quick Chess question

Currently teaching my son chess, I’m no great payer, I get by, I don’t know the the rule on if you get a pawn to the oppositions back line and then your next move you lose that pawn to bring your best lost player back into play, where do you put that piece...? Does it go back to your back line, ie, back to its start position, or does it stay where you lost the pawn on the oppositions back line...?

Thanks if anyone can answer. :thumbsup:
 
This is how I remember it (Wikipedia suggest the same):

"The new piece replaces the pawn on its square on the same move"

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Promotion_(chess)
 
If you get a pawn to the opposition back line, it automatically becomes a queen (or any other piece but why would you want anything else except, in exceptional circumstances, a knight?). If the new piece then gets taken, it’s gone, you don’t get another piece.
 
Yup it comes back on the square the pawn occupied as what ever you like. Usually a queen, occasionally a knight. Not sure it can be a king, never seen that done?

Edit. Just checked and indeed it can not be exchanged for a king. Rather a sexist rule that one. :wink:
 
Back
Top Bottom