Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Heavy / Sticky steering

Discuss problems you have had or are having with your Z4
RayM

Heavy / Sticky steering

Post by RayM » Fri May 06, 2016 7:25 am

Hi Guys, some help & advice please

My old Dolly's steering is on occasion and most recently yesterday in the warm weather, starting to feel a bit odd. Heavy or sticky, and on searching the forum last night it appears to be a common fault on the old models like mine.

Its not as bad as some people have described but for sure it will only get worse if unattended, although I have read that some days it will not be evident at all ?

I have trawled through the posts are there appears to be a number of easier fixes that may or may not do the trick.

Where is the best / easiest place to start that I can do myself before having to get someone to look at it for me?

I'm not a great mechanic but will have a go if it looks doable :)

Cheers.
Porsche 997 Gen 2 Cab - awesome
Melbourne Red 35iS (Gone to a new Home)
3.0 SE E85 Maldives blue (Now gone but not forgotten)
Previous toys:- 2.0 Litre Westy, 993 C4

touring_style

Heavy / Sticky steering

Post by touring_style » Fri May 06, 2016 10:11 pm

RayM wrote:Hi Guys, some help & advice please

My old Dolly's steering is on occasion and most recently yesterday in the warm weather, starting to feel a bit odd. Heavy or sticky, and on searching the forum last night it appears to be a common fault on the old models like mine.

Its not as bad as some people have described but for sure it will only get worse if unattended, although I have read that some days it will not be evident at all ?

I have trawled through the posts are there appears to be a number of easier fixes that may or may not do the trick.

Where is the best / easiest place to start that I can do myself before having to get someone to look at it for me?

Cheers.