Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

New member, new to the bmw world.

First port of call for new members
Mcaff

Post by Mcaff » Mon Jul 10, 2023 11:43 pm

Hello all!

I bought myself a 3.0i auto e85 today. I’ve been eyeing up a 3.0 variant of the z4 for the past year however having other projects on the go meant I could never commit to one. I sold off my “main” weekend car due to lack of use and increasing bills. I don’t like having a space in the garage and this z4 popped up on faceache marketplace with a poor advert local to me.

I had my heart set on a manual however the condition of the car and price I couldn’t really grumble so went for it. Still to pick the car up tomorrow. I’m a total novice to the bmw world as I’ve been French car mad for the past 15 years.

First questions I have are:
What oil do you recommend for a service, weight and brand?
Is there an easy or recommended way to add Bluetooth?
Other than that I’m just going to get out and drive it as it is meant to be driven. I will probably change the tyres and take a cruise over to Germany in the next few months.
IMG_9596.jpeg
IMG_9596.jpeg (225.02 KiB) Viewed 490 times
I look forward to browsing and learning!

adnan.exe

Post by adnan.exe » Tue Jul 11, 2023 2:47 am

Hey mate,

I use Castrol edge long life 5w30 it worked well for me and it's what the manual recommends.

As for Bluetooth, you can pull the radio out unplug one of the cables, plug in an adapter to the radio, plug the old cable back into the adapter and it gives you Bluetooth. The car sees it as a CD selector.

It looks like this -
s-l500.jpg
s-l500.jpg (25.89 KiB) Viewed 462 times

DMike

Post by DMike » Tue Jul 11, 2023 4:44 am

Hi and welcome to the forum! Beatiful zed, from 2003 or 2004 i presume and from the looks of the brake saddle, owned by an enthusiast at some point.