Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Shop Suggested Maintenance?

2003 - 2009, roadster, coupe, facelift
bmwzzzz

Post by bmwzzzz » Fri May 26, 2023 8:29 am

Hey all!
I recently had my oil changed and the shop recommended a few things. My father was a mechanic by trade and as such, I've done plenty of car work myself (converted an E46 to electric in college) so I was skeptical. I've mainly gained knowledge on American cars, figured I'd consult people who know this car better than I do.

The shop recommended three things, two which they could actually perform.
- Coolant Flush
- Transmission Service (maybe fluid flush? they can't do it anyways...)
- Differential Fluid

They also showed me the oil fill cap and claimed there was moisture, potentially indicating the a bad head gasket. I should've taken a photo at that time; if they didn't clean it, I'll add a photo for a sanity check.

The car has 106k miles on it and was owned by an older couple who seemed to 'blank check' most of the maintenance. Are these items that should be taken care of at this mileage or problematic with these cars? If so, they ballparked ~$100 for the diff fluid and ~$100 for the coolant flush, curious if that's seriously up-charged at all.

And a note about the head gasket topic. This car has never had any sort of smoke on start up, never had oil discoloration on the dipstick, and the motor honestly runs cold rather than hot. I made a post a few weeks ago mentioning that the temp gauge usually reads below the 'middle point' during longer highway drives or cooler areas. Other than the cap 'contaminants', all other signs don't seem to support their claim IMHO.

Figured I'd get some opinions and know what to ask for in more detail, let me know what y'all think!

*attaching photo because i can't stop taking pictures of this car*
IMG_0977.jpg
IMG_0977.jpg (257.98 KiB) Viewed 308 times
2003 E85 2.5i manual 5spd