Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

First inspection of Z4M throws up some issues, feedback appreciated

"M" Specific discussion
jontZ4M

Post by jontZ4M » Sun Jan 08, 2023 6:25 pm

Hi guys!

Please see pictures attached.

My 2006 Z4M Roadster arrived earlier this week. 2006 with 49k miles, 5 owners, just over £17k. Today was the first time I had a few hours to check her out properly. It would be really appreciated if you could read through my points below, I am completely new to BMW's.

1) I checked the oil filler cap and noticed white scum (see pic attached). Also white scum inside the spout that leads to the oil cap. Looking into the top of the cams, no obvious white there. My understanding is this means water in the oil. It may simply be that the car hasn't been used much and has been sitting outside, however I figured it was worth investigating further in case of HG issues. No obvious exhaust smoke. I decided to do a simple cylinder compression test to check for any problems. I got stuck at trying to remove spark plugs. My normal 5/8" spark socket did not fit the plugs. Not sure why. Are these 16mm spark plugs or 14mm please? I wonder if anyone can please point me to a removal socket that fits these plugs?

2) Exhaust is leaking/blowing just before what looks like 2 x catalysts. Entire exhaust looks pretty tired, will remove and examine. TBH standard exhaust seems much to quiet for me, I would prefer something a lot louder and more obnoxious. Can anyone recommend a nice stainless system with some good volume please? What is the etiquette for these cars? Do you just replace rear sections? Do you do decats? Manifolds? I'm guessing no useful power gains to be had here? At first glance S54 seems to be pretty much maxed out in standard trim.