Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Winter lay up

"M" Specific discussion
LawrenceW

Winter lay up

Post by LawrenceW » Thu Nov 10, 2022 9:41 am

Hi all, I know this topic can be down to opinion but given I’m relatively new to the S54 engine I wanted to pull on the experience and knowledge of the forum …

I’m laying up for winter my MC’, I’m fortunate that it’ll be garaged, covered etc and brought back out in the spring. Is there any evidence to suggest which is the better thing to do - periodically turn over the engine (till warm and remove any condensation out of the engine/exhaust) or do I just leave alone and start her up in the spring?

If helps the car is SORN so I don’t have the option of driving her during the winter lay up.

Any thoughts?

smorris_12

Winter lay up

Post by smorris_12 » Thu Nov 10, 2022 10:27 am

Put it away properly hot and leave well alone. It's not particularly long for a car to stand and repeated pointless startings does nothing any favours.

Topping the tank up is a thing too. If nothing else, with the way prices look to go, it's an investment!
------
Scott

Where are we going and why am I in this handbasket?

2006 Z4 2.5si Silbergrau und rot

Wassup

Winter lay up

Post by Wassup » Thu Nov 10, 2022 10:37 am

I tend to start my Z4MR and M3 Cab every month and then move them back and forth along the drive to avoid and issues with flat spots on the tyres, keep brakes/dsc unit moving. Usually I run the engine for 20 or so minutes and open the hood, run windows up and down, play the radio etc.

My wife says I need to get a life :rofl:
2008 Z4MR Ruby Black, Sepang Hell, Carbon Weave
2006 Z4 3.0si Montego Blue, Imola/Black individual
NCS/ISTA diagnostics & coding in Midlands - pm me

Argenta

Winter lay up

Post by Argenta » Thu Nov 10, 2022 11:45 am