Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Amber light trifecta

Discuss problems you have had or are having with your Z4
Momoney

Amber light trifecta

Post by Momoney » Mon Sep 26, 2022 4:57 pm

Hi All,
Newbie here (but not new to Z4 cars).
I've had my E85 Z4 for about six years and have brought her back from near death by spending absurd amounts of money. Recently, after she sat over the Winter I have just installed new tires and a new battery and some coolant temp sensors. I now have the dreaded three amber lights (parking brake, DSC, and tire). I've read lots of great posts on this forum and have therefore been able to move my diagnostic troubleshooting along a bit. I have a pretty sophisticated diagnostic tool that shows I have wheel speed sensors working. The biggest issue is the 5E40 code with a few other codes.
They are:

Dynamic stability control system (DSC/DXC)
5E40 ABS-DSC: Steering angle implausible

Basic Module
4A GM: Load/consumer shutdown: short circuit to ground
30 GM: K bus: data transmission disturbed

Automatic thermostatic air conditioner (IHKA) my ZED doesn't have an IKHA so not sure why this code is set
51 IHKS:LDH /RDH implausible coding

Instrument cluster (KOMBI_80)
BE KOMBI: Data-filing difference to central light module

Both of my diamond keys have dead batteries so that may explain some of this but I just dont know.

I've tried recalibrating the steering angle sensor but it doesn't make any difference and doesn't calibrate from what I can tell. I also cleared all the codes at least a dozen times but the amber trifecta lights come right back when I drive down the street for about 30 seconds to a minute. By the way, the DSC button works for a hot second until the amber lights come back on a few seconds later.