Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

E85 Suspension Refresh

2003 - 2009, roadster, coupe, facelift
JamesClements

E85 Suspension Refresh

Post by JamesClements » Mon Nov 22, 2021 12:44 pm

Hi all

After 83k on what I assume is the original shocks I'm beginning it might be time for a suspension refresh, I'm not sure they doing much damping - if any - anymore! Can anyone advise on suitable aftermarket replacements and any other bits that are worth doing at the same time? I have been considering lowering the car at the back so may do those springs anyway. Also how easy/difficult is this to do on the driveway with basic tools? I'm not an expert but do the usual servicing brakes etc. myself any feedback would be appreciated :)

Car is a 2007 2.5i sport

Cheers
2006 Sapphire Black E86 3.0si | 108's, ZHP, Stubby, Eibach Springs
2007 Carbon Black E85 2.5i | 19" NAD alloys, Pilot Sport 4S, strut brace, Stubby, ZHP, Brembo 4 pots, Greenstuff pads, Alcantara retrim, roof motor in boot
2022 BMW G80 320D Touring

Zulu4

E85 Suspension Refresh

Post by Zulu4 » Mon Nov 22, 2021 12:57 pm

There are loads of threads about this subject.
Perhaps start in the "how to" section.
viewforum.php?f=24
2007 3.0si Auto Sport Roadster. Whippy.
Previous:
2003 3.0i SE Roadster. Whippy.

bigwinn
Lifer
Lifer

E85 Suspension Refresh

Post by bigwinn » Mon Nov 22, 2021 12:57 pm

Hi James

Good time to do it as Autodoc are around 40% off this week, if you can put up with the wait of about 2 weeks for the bits youll save a few quid!

Fronts- usually opt for Bilstens, lemforder top mounts and decent make drop links. Same if you are going to do the ARB bushes (recommended in my humble opinion!)
Rears I havent been too sniffy with Sachs or Monroe shocks, top mounts again lemforders and drop links similar