Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Is an auto ok?

First port of call for new members
Kdawg1

Is an auto ok?

Post by Kdawg1 » Mon Nov 08, 2021 9:42 pm

Hi,

Newbie here - I’m thinking of getting a 3.0 coupe and have worked out a deal with someone but it’s an auto….

I’m not a major petrol head but have always had manuals and the thought of a dodgy auto changing when I don’t want it too is the only thing putting me off.

Anyone else been in a similar position?

Thanks in advance

GasheadIan

Is an auto ok?

Post by GasheadIan » Mon Nov 08, 2021 10:04 pm

Hi
I have an auto 3.0 post facelift roadster and have had it for 8 years which says it all and it’s staying
You will end up with more powerfull 3.0si engine than mine and 6 speed auto
With option to put it in either fully auto or manual selection gears and with sport button engaged I have not found it wanting massively unless you are following more powerful M or Alpina z4
It does also give you two cars in one , easy cruiser or more focused car
Many on here will not look at a auto but I would try it, especially if you are not a die hard petrol head. It may suit you perfectly they are easy to live with
Bristol ,England - E85 3.0 SE stubby aerial

enuff_zed
Lifer
Lifer

Is an auto ok?

Post by enuff_zed » Mon Nov 08, 2021 10:14 pm

Wifey drives a pre-facelift 2.5i auto (M54) and loves it. As said, podge the Sport button and wakey wakey!
I just recently picked up a 3.0i auto. Only driven it back to Norfolk from Aylesbury, but that too was a fun car to drive.
Seems to use a little more fuel than manual, but that may just be me.
HQ of 'Norfolk Zed Rescue'.
Always happy to help if I can.

If the forum helped you, why not help the forum back. Thats the Z4 way! :thumbsup:

mr.tourette
Lifer
Lifer

Is an auto ok?

Post by mr.tourette » Mon Nov 08, 2021 10:16 pm