Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Myth or truth? Big engines question

Discuss anything non Z4 related here
Pondrew
Lifer
Lifer

Post by Pondrew » Sat Oct 02, 2021 8:36 pm

I have heard many times over the years (and several times recently) people saying that big engines don't like lots of short journeys.
Is there any truth in this, or is it an 'old wives tale'?
I can't think of any logical reason why a 'big' engine (let's say 4.5 litre V8) should have any more problems with very short journeys than any other. Mind you, I am no mechanic and my knowledge of the ICE is very limited.
All good things come to those who wait. I'm really impatient which explains a lot.

F31 320i. Good car.
E89 20i Now fully dried
Z3 'free litre'. Project and a half. Complicated!
Mazda3 sold
Tatty old R56 Mini Cooper. Money pit!

Mr Tidy
Legend
Legend

Post by Mr Tidy » Sat Oct 02, 2021 8:45 pm

I don't think it does any engines any good regardless of their size as they never get properly warmed up. That's one of the reasons you get a build up of "mayo" on the back of the oil filler cap.

BMW M54 engines certainly don't like it. The only time I did that in my E46 next time I drove it I got a misfire and an Amber EML! Fortunately after I had done a few miles the misfire cleared and next time I used it the EML was off.

BMW N52 engines also aren't keen - it causes the common lifter ticking issue, although a decent drive clears that.

I'll never do it with my S54 engine because once I start driving it I can't help finding reasons to use the longest route possible. :lol:
Coupes because stunning!
Current - Silver Grey MC, Imola Red heated Nappa & carbon trim. Aeros, H & R Coil-overs, 224s, OE Strut brace, Nav, cup-holders, DSP Hi-Fi, pdc, cruise, MFSW, no CDV! E90 330i daily
Gone - Montego Blue
Gone - Ruby Black

Smartbear
Lifer
Lifer

Post by Smartbear » Sat Oct 02, 2021 9:02 pm