Upgrade of the forum

Discuss ideas for improving and developing this forum
User avatar
sp3ctre
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6878
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:29 pm
Location: Harrogate
Contact:

Upgrade of the forum

Post by sp3ctre » Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:50 pm

Hi guys,

You may have noticed the forum was down for some time this evening... I was running an update to the forum software that didn't exactly go to plan... It seems to have worked in the end, but let me know if you notice anything strange. Worst case we revert to backup and do it again, but from what I see so far it looks like everything is in tact.

That'll teach me to run an upgrade in the evening on a week night!!

Update: 99% of peoples issues can be fixed by clearing the browser cache. I can't keep posting that every time someone posts they are seeing stuck drop down menus. Please clear tour browser cache before reporting a problem. Thanks.
If you are looking for low cost UK insurance, visit our official Z4-forum insurance scheme

User avatar
sw4nny
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1027
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: Barnsley

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by sw4nny » Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:58 pm

Logging in on my phone all page sizes seems wrong its going straight to zoom in ??? When I zoom out to full page its all too small

User avatar
Roundozo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1526
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 5:17 pm
Location: Hampshire

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by Roundozo » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:00 am

It's miss behaving for me. :cry:

I can see this post and several others but the post count is wrong and the visuals look odd (that could just be the update i suppose). It was also displaying oddly on my phone. The screen sizing was all over the place.
Past - Z4 Coupe, gone but not forgotten
Present - 530d M sport touring

User avatar
Ducklakeview
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 6148
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 4:08 pm
Location: Merseyside

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by Ducklakeview » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:00 am

sw4nny wrote:
Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:58 pm
Logging in on my phone all page sizes seems wrong its going straight to zoom in ??? When I zoom out to full page its all too small


What he said! Very erm, different. Used to run like a dream on my phone.

All the pop up menus seem to be lingering open too.

Mike

User avatar
buzyg
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 11456
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 6:11 pm
Location: Cornwall

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by buzyg » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:00 am

I don't think it's worked. I have unwanted drop downs all over the place obscuring the screen and red highlights where I don't think they should be. See Snapshot. Running Crome on Win7 :?
Forum Snapshot.JPG
Forum Snapshot.JPG (64.42 KiB) Viewed 1810 times
Image

User avatar
sp3ctre
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6878
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:29 pm
Location: Harrogate
Contact:

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by sp3ctre » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:02 am

ok, I see the issue with mobile view... I can fix that... not sure about post counts, will have to check that.

Can you guys clear your cache, as I'm not seeing the same issue here
If you are looking for low cost UK insurance, visit our official Z4-forum insurance scheme

User avatar
buzyg
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 11456
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 6:11 pm
Location: Cornwall

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by buzyg » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:05 am

Good suggestion a quick CTRL F5, has cleared the issues I had. :D
Image

User avatar
sp3ctre
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6878
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:29 pm
Location: Harrogate
Contact:

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by sp3ctre » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:13 am

Ok, mobile view should be sorted (to the most part, just a couple of glitches to sort)... other issues should in theory be sorted by clearing the cache.

I need to go to sleep now (we have a 1 yr old baby that means I have to grab what sleep I can!) but I'll check in the morning and see if anything needs to be done.
If you are looking for low cost UK insurance, visit our official Z4-forum insurance scheme

User avatar
Roundozo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1526
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 5:17 pm
Location: Hampshire

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by Roundozo » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:24 am

:thumbsup:
Past - Z4 Coupe, gone but not forgotten
Present - 530d M sport touring

User avatar
sw4nny
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1027
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: Barnsley

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by sw4nny » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:49 am

sp3ctre wrote:
Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:02 am
ok, I see the issue with mobile view... I can fix that... not sure about post counts, will have to check that.

Can you guys clear your cache, as I'm not seeing the same issue here
What's clear your cache ?and how?

User avatar
WLH
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 12276
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 2:08 am
Location: Taxsylvania
Contact:

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by WLH » Thu Mar 30, 2017 2:30 am

sw4nny wrote:
Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:49 am
sp3ctre wrote:
Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:02 am
ok, I see the issue with mobile view... I can fix that... not sure about post counts, will have to check that.

Can you guys clear your cache, as I'm not seeing the same issue here
What's clear your cache ?and how?
Within your browser's menu usually under preferences or privacy settings there will be an option somewhere to clear your cache. What browser are you using?
2007 ///M Roadster - My Zed's - Member ZSCCA - ///M Registry - My Videos
Image

User avatar
GBZ4
Member
Member
Posts: 679
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:45 pm
Location: Rhoose Point

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by GBZ4 » Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:03 am

I'm using an iPad Pro and currently experiencing issues with 'drop down' menus being permanently 'dropped' :cry:
2018 M6 Convertible in Alpine White with Sakhir Orange Leather
2016 E89 18i Roadster - handed over to the wife :oldman: :roll:

Image

User avatar
jimbo1958
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 6174
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:49 pm
Location: Romancing Your Mum

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by jimbo1958 » Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:51 am

GBZ4 wrote:
Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:03 am
I'm using an iPad Pro and currently experiencing issues with 'drop down' menus being permanently 'dropped' :cry:
Having the same on Ipad and Firefox on the PC.
"There are fewer more distressing sights than that,Of an Englishman in a baseball cap
And we'll die in the class we were born,Well that's a class of our own my love."

User avatar
srhutch
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24458
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:22 pm
Location: East Sussex, UK
Contact:

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by srhutch » Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:51 am

GBZ4 wrote:
Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:03 am
I'm using an iPad Pro and currently experiencing issues with 'drop down' menus being permanently 'dropped' :cry:

Same here on iPad :cry:
Image

User avatar
sp3ctre
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6878
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:29 pm
Location: Harrogate
Contact:

Upgrade (from hell!)

Post by sp3ctre » Thu Mar 30, 2017 7:08 am

Go to settings... safari... clear history and website data
If you are looking for low cost UK insurance, visit our official Z4-forum insurance scheme

Post Reply