Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Suspension Upgrade Advice

"M" Specific discussion
MichaelPorter80

Post by MichaelPorter80 » Sun Dec 01, 2019 11:08 am

I know this is a big topic, but would love to get everyone’s view point. I have a Z4MR 2006 on 59k. I have done quite a lot to my car as some of you may have seen on my update post. I am not thinking of upgrading the suspension, and so want people’s views on the right solution. First some key info.

- I am not planning to track the car
- I would like it to be lower than stock but not ridiculous
- I am keeping the stock 18” wheels (I love them)
- I want to maintain the ride comfort but improve suspension performance.
- I am thinking coil over just because they’re an upgrade and to get the same ride comfort but have the car lower they seem to be the best option.

So with all this in mind... what do people think? I am a complete noob on this stuff by the way!
1st Z4 bought in 2009 - Sapphire Black, 2.0l Sport SOLD
2nd Z4 bought in 2013 - Midnight Blue, 2.0l Sport SOLD
3rd Z4 bought in 2019 - Sapphire Black Z4MR Imola Red Leather

mmm-five
Lifer
Lifer

Post by mmm-five » Sun Dec 01, 2019 12:54 pm

I had almost the same criteria, with the exception of wanting to be able to tweak them for track use too.

I went for the Bilstein B16 PSS10 - and use them on almost their softest/highest setting for the road (about 15-20mm lower), and then adjust them another 20mm lower and stiffen out the bump/rebound for track use.

I was doing 20,000+ miles a year on them too - with an annual service (not a rebuild, just cleaning/checking them over) as part of my annual Inspection 2 process. They've probably got 4 years and 50,000 miles on them now - plus a few Ring trips and track days under them.
Trigger’s Z4MC
Some bits now over 163,000 miles, some less than 1,000 miles.