Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Eurotunnel queries

Discuss anything non Z4 related here
mjennings23

Eurotunnel queries

Post by mjennings23 » Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:15 pm

Morning all.

Taking the Z on a French adventure this year and it's my first time taking the Z abroad, also the first time using the train. So a couple of queries...

When I was booking I mentioned that it was a sports car with low ground clearance, the advisor helpfully said that they'd book it in as a high vehicle so to assign me to the single level decks and avoid any issues with embarking. Now, I assume this means I just follow the signs in the terminals for vehicles over 1.85m high and ignore the car lanes?

Second, I assume it works a lot like Eurostar in that customs checks are done before embarking both sides so getting off is as simple as driving off and away you go.

Third, sort of related. Any decent pub food near Folkestone? :rofl: We are travelling on a Sunday with a 8:30pm departure or similar, so planning to take our time driving down and eating en route, then staying in a hotel in Calais for the night

mmm-five
Lifer
Lifer

Eurotunnel queries

Post by mmm-five » Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:25 pm

No need for low clearance either, as the overhangs on a zed are not particularly long.

Never had a problem on ferries, Eurotunnel, or tight & twisty car parks (my mate with a Skyline however has spent 2 hours trying to reaffix his carbon front spoiler in a car park in Liege).

Customs is similar to the ferry, everything done beforehand at the booths - but that was pre-Brexit, so post-Brexit experience might be completely different and may take much longer than the normal 5 minutes).
Trigger’s Z4MC
Some bits now over 163,000 miles, some less than 1,000 miles.
Individual Ruby Black, Individual extended champagne leather, plus many options

mjennings23

Eurotunnel queries