Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Hive Heating

Discuss anything non Z4 related here
TitanTim
Lifer
Lifer

Hive Heating

Post by TitanTim » Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:29 pm

Hi all,

Anyone use a Hive? I've been using it for over 3 years and been generally pleased with it, had to replace a themostat due to it eating batteries but apart from that ok. However the past month or so it seems to have gone pearshaped to a point of thinking of getting rid. Seems to be alot of issues with devices going offline lately when looking at various forums. I've had a few smart plugs go offline and the heating went offline one day so couldn't put it on when away from home so came back to a cold house. Real issue started around 2 weeks ago which I think coincided with a mobile app update. I found then on the app the interior house temp was stuck on 19.5C. Contacted Hive support who suggested re-pairing the boiler receiver as they said it hadn't been sending out temperature readings for 24hrs. I re-paired the receiver with the hub and thermostat which sorted the temp issue in the app and all seemed good. Now I seem to have an issue where when you set the target temp using either thermostat or the app to say 20C, the boiler fires up and runs fine but it won't reach the target temp i.e. the heating shuts off at 19.7C not 20C. With latent heat the temp will go over 20C so not a big deal. However what is happening now is when the temp drops back to 19.7C the boiler fires up but shuts down again in less than a munute and won't reach the target of 20C. Its like the boiler is thinking the real target is 19.7C and not the 20C set on the thermostat. If I turn the themostat up to say 22C, boiler fires up and runs fine but again it shuts off at 21.7C. Its like the calibration on the thermostat is out. I also think its over reading by upto 3 degrees when compared to my smart meter and a thermometer I keep next to th