Can a CTEK overcharge a battery?

Discuss anything non Z4 related here
User avatar
Havard
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 7:42 pm
Location: Wigan

Can a CTEK overcharge a battery?

Post by Havard » Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:49 pm

Mine got to a point where it wouldn't move after 10 presses and the would jump 3 places. Nothing for another 10 presses and then the same again.

The good thing about the new model is that it stays in the same mode when you unplug it from the car and stays on standby. The old ones went barmy if you unplugged the car and left the power on.

H.
ImageImage

User avatar
pvr
Legend
Legend
Posts: 22479
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: South East UK

Can a CTEK overcharge a battery?

Post by pvr » Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:48 pm

At least the later models don’t have that button and remember your last setting.
911-50 Black - unique spec
X5M - 575 hp of fun in a V8
Abarth 595 Comp.
Golf Clipper - collectors item
Jeep
Z4M Silver Grey - non flimper spec (gone to Bing)

User avatar
ronk
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 8551
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:50 am
Location: Durham

Can a CTEK overcharge a battery?

Post by ronk » Mon Mar 19, 2018 12:52 am

I’ve got a 12v golf cart maintenance charger. It cycles the battery between 12.7 and 13.5v - it has no bells or whistles, lights or mode selection - just connect to the under bonnet pins and forget it - It only cost me £8 from Makro years ago.

The zed hibernated in Nov 2017 and when I checked the other day the reading across the pins was 13.2v
You don't stop playing when you get old - You get old when you stop playing!
So I bought a 35is with all the toys to play with. :thumbsup:

Post Reply