Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

DSLR Cameras + Drones

Discuss anything non Z4 related here
jimmybell

DSLR Cameras + Drones

Post by jimmybell » Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:39 pm

In light of the less than ideal driving weather recently, and with an eventful year or so coming up - i'm rekindling an old hobby. Confident there's some decent amateur and Pro photographers on the forum and we all love a debate about 'which is best', so i'm opening up this debate. And.. as we all know - all good hobbies start with an unjustified ridiculously expensive purchase.

For some context, i'm an amateur photographer at best, though i do have some decent lens-time with DSLRs, film SLRs and some modern semi-compact thingers.

I had a 400d + handful of lenses (18-200 IS, nifty50, kit lens etc) for a good few years, i've also used Nikon and Olympus models reasonably often. I sold up everything a year or two ago as carrying around DSLR became a chore and i thought i'd be able to get away with some of the modern smaller (but pricey) Micro 4/3” compacts. Thus i bought a Panasonic LX100 (which is basically the Leica D-Lux 109). I was wrong. It's a great camera, and would take incredible point-and-shoot clueless holiday snaps, but i think it's really a backup camera for when DSLR isn't to hand... and in 2018 it's often easily replaced with a modern iphone. This was made very apparent when at LM24/Goodwood etc events where i had some decent access but struggled to get the snaps i wanted. Camera couldn't keep up with fast moving stuff - especially when the track was far away, or low light, etcetc. Also most close-up angles are fenced, so you actually need to be on a hill further away for a clear shot. Here's a photo to make the thread less wordy: