Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Ratchet spanners advice - also Bargain Tool chest alert

Discuss anything non Z4 related here
TonyP

Ratchet spanners advice - also Bargain Tool chest alert

Post by TonyP » Wed Dec 20, 2017 12:56 pm

Ok, so according to my wife I'm officially the most difficult person to buy gifts for :o , however I've been hankering after some ratchet spanners for a while & SWMBO has said I can have a set for Christmas. :thumbsup:

She's just bought the set of 9 set of flexible headed ratchet spanners in Halfords on offer for £40, however, as I'm just a hobbyist I'm wondering if the 12 set of ratcheted but non-flexible spanners for £50 also at Halfords would be a better option?, can you get as much 'welly' on a flexible set vs straight spanners?, the 12 set of flexible spanners is £70, so that's an extra £30 for 3 spanners over what I've just been bought.

A bit of a curveball - Lidl have a set of 5 flexi ratchet spanners for a tenner at the moment, I'm not sure of the quality, it seems that Halfords Advance range of tools is pretty well regarded.

Any advise please.

Tony

http://www.halfords.com/workshop-tools/ ... panner-set

http://www.halfords.com/workshop-tools/ ... et-spanner

https://www.lidl.co.uk/en/Non-Food-Offe ... cleId=8945
Last edited by TonyP on Mon Jan 01, 2018 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

GuidoK
Lifer
Lifer

Ratchet spanners advice - flexi or straight?

Post by GuidoK » Wed Dec 20, 2017 1:09 pm

In essence you can never have too many tools.

But maybe more important, get a full set. That means all the sizes.
BMW's are full of size 16mm for example. The 9 piece set doesnt have that (let alone the lidl set, but thats cheap garbage anyway).
Any set without 16mm is worthless if you own a modern car imho. (nowadays an m10 bolt is just as often 16mm as 17mm)