Tire pressure monitor sensors

Alloy wheels and tyre discussion
CYCLONE2
Member
Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:05 pm

Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by CYCLONE2 » Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:12 pm

I took my 2 front wheels in today to have the new Continental Extreme Contact DW tires installed. For some reason the rear tires are lost in UPS land somewhere. I've got the Ellipsoid wheels. I asked the installer if they were hard to take off and install. He said they were a little difficult. I asked him if the TPMS units made the installation more difficult. He told me there were no TPMS sensors on the wheel. :?
Is that true? I assumed there was some kind of device on the wheels but he said no. I know the car has that system so what's up with that?
Did someone steal them from me during the night? :x How does the system work? He said he's seen systems that sense ride height and that is how those systems work.
Maybe the sensor is in the valve?

User avatar
Half Colin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1609
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:16 am

Re: Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by Half Colin » Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:33 pm

The TPMS in US cars (guessing you're on the other side of the pond from your spelling of tyre! ) is different from European cars and does use pressure sensors in the wheels. I don't know what they look like but it does sound like you're missing them. You really need someone on your side to help you out.
Image
Now E92 330D M Sport, Sapphire Black, AC Schnitzers and carbon badges soon
Sold E86 3.0si Sport, Sapphire Black, AC Schnitzers, carbon badges, ZHP, stubby and NO RUNFLATS!

User avatar
Liam-O
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1693
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:29 pm
Location: Solihull

Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by Liam-O » Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:12 pm

If you mean when it checks for a flat, it does it by checking how many revolutions at a certain speed I believe.
Liam - O

2005 Z4 2.2SE Grey

:rtfm: HOW TO: Fitting a Z4M Bumper

User avatar
Adamski
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 14280
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:46 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by Adamski » Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:26 pm

Liam-O wrote:If you mean when it checks for a flat, it does it by checking how many revolutions at a certain speed I believe.
That was my understanding of how it worked...
Gone: Z4M Coupé|Black Sapphire|OEM CSLs|Aero Skirts|OEM Strut Brace|Nav|Heated Seats|Logic 7 Pro Hi-fi|Bluetooth|Carbon Leather|PDC|BMW Assist|Stubby
Gone: Cherished 2003 3.0i Black Sapphire Roadster

User avatar
WLH
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 12277
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 2:08 am
Location: Taxsylvania
Contact:

Re: Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by WLH » Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:28 pm

CYCLONE2, what year is your Z?
2007 ///M Roadster - My Zed's - Member ZSCCA - ///M Registry - My Videos
Image

User avatar
M@r]{
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1055
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: East Midlands

Re: Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by M@r]{ » Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:28 pm

Thats how it works on the 5 series, no sensors as such, just the rate of revolution.
2006 Lotus Exige S
2006 E61 535d M-Sport Touring

User avatar
WLH
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 12277
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 2:08 am
Location: Taxsylvania
Contact:

Re: Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by WLH » Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:31 pm

Ok...It look like you have 2005 Zed and therefor no TPMS sensors. TPMS sensors started on the 2007 models for the US.
2007 ///M Roadster - My Zed's - Member ZSCCA - ///M Registry - My Videos
Image

User avatar
cj_eds
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1405
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Stirling

Re: Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by cj_eds » Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:31 pm

Yip, it guesses from the 4 wheel speed sensors that if one wheel is dragging its feet a little then its an underinflated tyre.

Problem being it can also go off for other reasons, like the wheels are experiencing different levels of grip. (Such as ice in winter.)

CYCLONE2
Member
Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:05 pm

Re: Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by CYCLONE2 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:30 am

WLH wrote:CYCLONE2, what year is your Z?
2005 with 18" ellipsoids.

CYCLONE2
Member
Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:05 pm

Re: Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by CYCLONE2 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:39 am

I "ASSUMED" that if I lost a few pounds of pressure in a tire that the system would let me know about it. I then would check my tires, add the air needed to the problem tire, reset the system and away I go. I also "ASSUMED" there was a sensor of some kind in each wheel. I was surprised to hear there was not.
Thanks for the responses..........

User avatar
dan425
Member
Member
Posts: 532
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:46 am
Location: Wokingham, Berks

Re: Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by dan425 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:41 am

When my tyre pressure was low the other day my run-flat warning light came on. I filled all four tyres up and reset the RFT system. No problems since.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
Image
E85 Z4, 3.0i, 2005.

User avatar
WLH
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 12277
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 2:08 am
Location: Taxsylvania
Contact:

Re: Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by WLH » Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:43 am

CYCLONE2 wrote:
WLH wrote:CYCLONE2, what year is your Z?
2005 with 18" ellipsoids.
No worries as your model uses tire rotation measurement from the anti-lock brake system to determine if a tire has lost air. However, as I understand it it's not as accurate as the TPMS system and you can have quite a bit of air loss before you get a warning.
2007 ///M Roadster - My Zed's - Member ZSCCA - ///M Registry - My Videos
Image

User avatar
WLH
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 12277
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 2:08 am
Location: Taxsylvania
Contact:

Re: Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by WLH » Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:55 am

CYCLONE2, BTW you're going to really like the Continental Extreme Contact DW tires. They are just excellent... :driving:
2007 ///M Roadster - My Zed's - Member ZSCCA - ///M Registry - My Videos
Image

User avatar
Liam-O
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1693
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:29 pm
Location: Solihull

Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by Liam-O » Tue Feb 14, 2012 2:14 am

As I found, losing air equally across all tyres meant no warning. I think the system is just to detect a flat, and is not a substitute to checking manually?
Liam - O

2005 Z4 2.2SE Grey

:rtfm: HOW TO: Fitting a Z4M Bumper

Bumpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1131
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:13 am
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

Re: Tire pressure monitor sensors

Post by Bumpy » Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:56 am

Tire sensors in North America work like this:
American cars have the built in sensors.
They can be identified by a stiffy valve stem.

Canadian cars monitor air pressure via the diameter of the tire when properly inflated, as interpreted by the ABS System.
They can be identified by a flexy valve stem.

Problems can arise cause alot of American Z's get imported into Canada.

My advice is to give the valve stems a wiggle and you will know right away where that tire came from.

Post Reply