Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

NO LONGER WANTED 2007/08 Z4 Coupe *CAR FOUND*

Buying and selling Z4's (VEHICLE SALES ONLY) (private sales only, no traders)
johndglynn

2007/08 Z4 Coupe *CAR FOUND*

Post by johndglynn » Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:10 am

*Now found a car - many thanks to all who responded.*
Last edited by johndglynn on Tue Mar 24, 2020 11:50 am, edited 3 times in total.
Classic Motorcycle Valuations
classic-motorcycle-valuations.com

Gaijiniji

In the market for a 2007/08 Z4 Coupe

Post by Gaijiniji » Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:48 am

Hey John,

An interesting topic - car valuations. I work in finance / banking and have previously been involved in pricing financial instruments (from foreign exchange to swaptions). In a liquid market where a large number of transactions are made this is fairly straight forward. With really illiquid assets this starts to become quite challenging (something like hedge funds or private equity). How do your pricing models work with some of the rarer cars that come up for sale? Say we pick something ultra rare like a Lada Riva (laugh as you may this is one of the rarest cars in the UK!) where the price discovery mechanism completely breaks down - do you just price in a large margin for error?

Good luck with the search!

G

srhutch

Post by srhutch » Wed Jul 17, 2019 1:31 pm

With the greatest of respect I don't think you'll find any takers if you are valuing against WBAC.

ON that basis you'd only offer me £8,705 for my 51k ///M Roadster as they would offer me £7,705

Bluecat

Post by Bluecat » Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:01 pm

Would you also be willing to sell one of your cars based on that premise?

Status

Post by Status » Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:13 pm