Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Roof has died, but unlatches from the front with windows dropping

Discuss problems you have had or are having with your Z4
Josh

Post by Josh » Tue Jul 20, 2021 2:02 pm

Hi guys, Although I’ve been a member for a few years I’m totally new to when it comes to writing a question (asking for help) !
I have a 3.0 Z4 2003 in Southern Spain (Left hand drive)…..Love it to bits and enjoy the commute from Marbella to Gibraltar most weeks for work. Air conditioning works a treat but sometimes I like to ‘get my top off’! Yes you’ve guessed it I’ve got a roof problem.
I have read lots about my problem from this forum which is excellent info. However, just want to make sure I’ve got it clear in my head before ‘tampering’. Cars out here are extremely expensive and so are the garages that fix them if you’ve tried DIY and its gone wrong.
My roof used to work fine about a year ago but from time to time the motor did make a bit of a noise when moving the Roof back and forth. I’m only talking about the roof motor behind the seat not the release catch at the front as that’s working fine.
The noise was down to the fluid I’m sure. When very noisy it moved the roof very slowly but I would release the button momentarily and then depressing it again allowed it to move at a normal speed and without a noisy motor.
Every now and then (except the release catch motor at the front) nothing would happen when opening. No sound, nothing, like the motor had burnt out and died. Then, after a week it would work again. I put this down to the motors poorly located position which had (I assumed) got wet during the rainy month and then dried out to work again. This went on for a few months and now finally has given up the go completely. The boot parcel shelf trip switch thingy works fine.