Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Throttle Sensor? Brake Sensor? Something Electrical is causing surging idle :( please help

Discuss problems you have had or are having with your Z4
Ksmillie1987

Throttle Sensor? Brake Sensor? Something Electrical is causing surging idle :( please help

Post by Ksmillie1987 » Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:17 am

Hey guys - this is my first time posting. After an extensive search on multiple topics revolving around Throttle Sensors all the way to MAF and the Brake/Stop light switch. Ive learned a ton about how the systems work.

I cant seem to track down the main cause of my problems although I feel I am closing in on it.

Ive got a 2003 Z4 2.5 with 146k on the clock (manual 5 speed)

my foxwell obd2 has been giving me some weird readings while trying to track down a LTFT +20 avg issue. (both banks) when idle.. highway speeds it comes down to about +10 ltft... my stft bounces from -2 to 8 usually

Replaced Plugs / Coil packs / new ICV / cleaned Throttle Body / new Injectors / switched to catch can at first but now have a new CCV system installed. Whole new Intake Boot. and a nice new battery :D and pre cat 02 sensors and a HPFR

seeing that I replaced these items thinking i had a vac leak- i made a home made smoke tester and have ran several tests and the system is sealed.

One code i am getting depending on outside temp is the secondary air injection which i have not fixed yet. (but the one way valve under the air pump is working and doesnt let exhaust pulses out.
I dropped the exhaust and replaced the High pressure Fuel components filter/reg etc. trying to rule out the hard starts and fuel issues.

heres the issue that has me stumped

My original MAF sensor is dead I believe... it reads .01lb at idle and only changes when aprx at 3-4k on highway. So I put a MM on it and the OHM reader tells me its lacking compared to a new MAF.