Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Roof won’t open/ lock

Discuss problems you have had or are having with your Z4
celticrider

Roof won’t open/ lock

Post by celticrider » Tue Oct 02, 2018 1:18 pm

Hi, I am new to this for so i apologize if not proper, and a long post to get everything in I have done. It has been suggested to post here for my issue.
I am from Canada and it was suggested that you UK guys are the best in sorting out Z4 issues. I have a 04 Z4 that the roof won’t open properly.
It always closes and locks with no issues.
When we bought the car last year a new motor/pump was installed as the roof was inoperable.
When we 1 st had the car the roof would open all the way by itself and lock,although slower than closing, and it would close with no issues. Then it started that it would unlock from the windshield, and either slowly open and maybe lock, or we would have to help it start to open then it would continue opening by itself slowly, but would go to about 3-4” from locking, at that point we would either have to raise the roof a bit then hit the open button, sometimes it would lock, most times however it would get close then we would have to push down on the roof to get it to lock.
This is the way it is now.
It always closes fine.
When closing it sounds like it has lots of power, when opening sounds like it is not under much pressure, but always attempts to open, but can’t do it by itself. This is strange because as I understand the same components open and close the roof.
The windows always open and it unlatched from the windshield, then slowly starts to raise but can’t make it open without help.
With one suggestion I bled the system by releasing the red handle and pressing the open/ close buttons 3-4 times for 10-15 seconds.
Thinking maybe oil is low, but now leaks ever showed.
If it weee low on oil, is it possible to affect only one way of operation?