Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Remote closing of roof by coding only

Specific discussion about the E89 2009 Z4 (sDrive35is, sDrive35i, sDrive30i, sDrive23i)
Pbondar

Post by Pbondar » Thu Jun 18, 2020 11:16 am

This is addressed to all those that use INPA / NCS Expert..

A person on Facebook in response to a discussion on what it takes to enable an E89 to remotely close the roof once opened, stated that any E89, irrrespective of options could be coded to remote close the roof.. and that he had done it 'many times'...by 'change the programme line from non activ to activ'

Has any of the Z4 Forum elite gurus (or in fact non elite gurus) performed such a fix?

Silverstar

Post by Silverstar » Thu Jun 18, 2020 11:55 am

I am no coding expert but I found someone online via Youtube I think, based in London who coded the roof to close with the remote on an E93. I called him and had a chat and he told me the roof systems are pretty much the same between the E93 and E89 and he believes he could do it on the E89 but can't be 100% certain until he plugs the car to his equipment and checks. Problem with that was that I am about 1500 miles away and have no plans to drive back to London anytime soon. Based on that and what you have seen on Facebook I believe it may well be possible to do.
2009 sdrive30i auto Sapphire Black / Coral Red

Pbondar

Post by Pbondar » Thu Jun 18, 2020 12:01 pm

Silverstar, thanks, I'm having difficulty rationalising this..

Why would people sell add on boxes at quite a significant expense if it could be coded for free?

Why wouldn't some of the apps like Carly/Carista/Bimmer Geeks have this functionality in it?

Why after 10 years of E89 existence are there not several people around who have done it?

Not to say it can't be done but..
Last edited by Pbondar on Thu Jun 18, 2020 12:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

enuff_zed
Lifer
Lifer