Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Improving dipped headlights on an E85 2.51 2004

2003 - 2009, roadster, coupe, facelift
Sailorman

Post by Sailorman » Thu Sep 02, 2021 12:43 pm

I'm new to the world of Z4's, having bought my oldish 2.51 ten days ago.

The dipped headlights are pathetic; the main beam ones are superb. As the car has a beam height adjustor right by the light switch I think the lights are all halogen. Can anyone please confirm?

Next, I've been told that fitting Philips X-Treme Vision G-Force H7 with 130% extra light will improve matters simply and cheaply. Any comments from those who have tried this route? I'm looking for a quick and simple solution, not necessarily the best one.

I should say I've found the Forum invaluable and I have read quite a lot on this topic but most of it quite old and I think this bulb is fairly new.

Thanks in advance

Sailorman

brillomaster

Post by brillomaster » Thu Sep 02, 2021 1:12 pm

quick and simple is change the bulb to the brightest one you can get hold of (either philips extreme vision or osram night breakers most likely) and then also adjust the beam of the dipped lights up a fraction.

i think there are some bulbs that give +200% more brightness than standard, osram nightbreaker 200, for example. though the downside is they dont last as long. but then, i dont do much fun driving in the dark anyways.

Zulu4

Post by Zulu4 » Thu Sep 02, 2021 1:23 pm

I use Osram LEDriving lights. They are bright, have a good beam pattern but the government, in its usual wisdom, deems them illegal. My car is due its MOT in a few weeks so I'll see what they have to say about it.
Last edited by Zulu4 on Thu Sep 02, 2021 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2007 3.0si Auto Sport Roadster. Whippy.
Previous:
2003 3.0i SE Roadster. Whippy.

RvsBmw

Post by RvsBmw » Thu Sep 02, 2021 1:31 pm