Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

LED Bulbs - is this an common issue

Discuss problems you have had or are having with your Z4
eyup

Post by eyup » Sun Feb 18, 2018 5:25 pm

Hi all

I have been using Ring LEDs in the side light for about 7 months and the wife noticed one side was out. So I went to replace and it came back on when I removed it from the headlight housing. Now it comes on but the the opposite side light comes on initially but then (after an unknown amount of time) goes "off". There is a very slight glow but not emitting anything usable, you can barely tell it's powered at all. The Ring leds are five year guaranteed.

Is this what others have experienced? I am wondering if as the light gets warm the canbus resistor is causing the issue, is it's failing. Does this sound plausible?
Coupe - Montego Blue. 108's, simplest mod - second medical box :-)

The journey so far;
i) 1998 Ford Focus 1.8 Litre
ii) The Z
iii) what else is needed?

Scooba_Steve
Lifer
Lifer

Post by Scooba_Steve » Sun Feb 18, 2018 6:49 pm

Bulb holder for the one that went off and came back on?

CANBUS compatible don't seem to be worth the hassle, i.e. they fail which I assume is due to having a 4W load resistor with that heat to dissipate on a small package size.

Get some OSRAM/Philips LEDs and code out the checks, have had no issues for 3/4 years.
3.0si Sport: F10 Illuminated ZHP, Retrofit Cruise, OE Stubby, Gaptech RCH+, Kenwood BT73DAB + Handsfree, HIDs, LED Sidelights, OE LED Number Plate Lights, Custom LED strip bootlight.

eyup

Post by eyup » Sun Feb 18, 2018 6:58 pm

Scooba_Steve wrote: Sun Feb 18, 2018 6:49 pmBulb holder for the one that went off and came back on?.