Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Dsp radio/ cd

2003 - 2009, roadster, coupe, facelift
Mighty1

Dsp radio/ cd

Post by Mighty1 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:26 pm

Hi eventually got someone to fit my alpine radio to my 2.5 2003 zed all went well till the audio technician came to replace the old original head unit.No noise at all changed and put brand new head in still no sound.I told him I’d read on the forum where there’s some kind of problem when fitting with the dsp with 10 speakers but as an old git who knows nowt about these things I’m looking for either any advice for the fitter or wether you can fit something to the original unit
Thanks in advance I know there’s some knowledge people out there
Geoff
Previous
Z4 2.0 M sport
Porsche Boxster
SLk 3.5
MK1 Mx5
Currently z2.5 Auto exclusive Maldives blue

Magicarcher

Dsp radio/ cd

Post by Magicarcher » Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:56 pm

I am not an expert on the 10 speaker audio system, but I know a reasonable amount about car audio in general and I notice you are not getting any answers.

In the 10 speaker HiFi system, each speaker is driven by an independent channel from an amplifier in the boot. Looking at the wiring diagrams https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/e85- ... =amplifier, the amp in the boot receives signals from the head unit in the dash. The wiring diagrams for the interface for the various radio wiring configurations can bee seen here: https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/e85- ... o/q-X18805 I don't have the technical spec for the z4 amplifier, but generally amplifiers receive low level signals which are either analogue or digital (aftermarket analogue amplifiers generally receive either 2V or 4V signals).

If your audio technician has simply replaced the existing head unit with an aftermarket head unit and expected it to work with your amplifier, at best it is unlikely to work, at worst it may damage your amplifier.