Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Is detailing worth it for me?

Claying, polishing, waxing... share your secrets in here.
sharpyboy

Post by sharpyboy » Tue Sep 27, 2016 1:29 pm

Hi guys

I've never been obsessive about car cleaning on my cars as they have normally been daily drivers used for commuting so have never got into car detailing as I saw it as a waste of time and energy. I have the utmost of respect for shiny immaculate paintwork on a car and really think the colour and light reflections add to the overall shape and contours of the car. I'm new to the z4 and my car is ten years old and does not have immaculate paintwork there are stone chips and swirls and all sorts of problems I expect I've not even noticed but you would so I have to ask is it worth spending a lot of time and energy cleaning, polishing and buffing and protecting the paintwork. I could understand it as a second car only taken out once or twice a month but as a daily driver how do you keep up with the cleaning?

Could anyone suggest a low maintenance cleaning regime for someone to improve the old tired paintwork (jet black) of my car or am I wasting my time if the paintwork is not pristine? I live in a block of flats and have no garage only a covered parking space with no electrical outlets so pressure washers and da polishers are out, unless you can get rechargeable ones.

What do you guys do at places like Zedfest when you show your cars after a 2 to 3 hour drive in a field? How do you clean the dead bugs off and put on the shine?

Looking forward to your response :thumbsup:
2006 Z4 2.5i gap-tech rch+ roof mod + zhp + roof motor now in boot + DLV Exhaust mod

Marlon
Lifer
Lifer

Post by Marlon » Tue Sep 27, 2016 1:41 pm