Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

New machine polisher

Claying, polishing, waxing... share your secrets in here.
Nanu
Lifer
Lifer

New machine polisher

Post by Nanu » Mon May 06, 2019 7:57 pm

Just invested in a Van Haus machine DA polisher which is a good entry level machine. My intention is not to do any serious work, more just to remove a few light swirls and generally make the job of polishing and waxing the car easier and less strenuous.

Clayed the car yesterday and gave it the once over with Pourboys black hole polish and whilst it has removed most of the swirls I was unable to wax it because of a few heavy showers in the area. I could have another go at the weekend and remove all the swirls but as a complete beginner with a machine I am happy with the results. May try to be a little more adventurous later in the year when it needs doing again

Has anyone any tips re waxing using a machine?
G29 M30i M Sport San Francisco Red

Previous
E89 35is Valencia Orange
E89 28i Crimson
E89 25i White

Z4M-2006
Lifer
Lifer

New machine polisher

Post by Z4M-2006 » Mon May 06, 2019 8:26 pm

Black hole is actually a glaze with fillers IIRC

You wont remove any swirls with that,but it will make them look better short term.

Get a microfibre cutting pad and megs ultimate compound and set about it,approx 2 hours a panel will get it swirl and hologram free..

Never wax using a machine

PerryGunn
Lifer
Lifer

New machine polisher

Post by PerryGunn » Mon May 06, 2019 8:30 pm

I don't like to rain on your parade but Black Hole isn't really a polish that will remove swirl marks, it's a filler-heavy product that disguises swirls and light scratches by filling them in - a good wash or two will remove it and the swirl marks will be back.