Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

HELP! Leaf prints on bonnet + Questions re. detail cost.

Claying, polishing, waxing... share your secrets in here.
NorthernSky

Post by NorthernSky » Sun Oct 28, 2018 12:43 pm

Hey all,

To my intense shame, I have returned from a few days away to discover a load of Autumnal crap on my coupe. I've removed it and washed the car (it was only out in the open for a few days, honest!) and some leaf prints have formed which I cannot remove with a sponge on the bonnet, mainly.

I'm not a detailing pro, so am asking you lot for advice - am tempted to get the whole car detailed to keep it looking good as it hibernates for the salty, cold, wet winter we are about to have.

What should I be asking the detailers to do, to eliminate these leaf outlines from the paint. Is claying the way to do this? Or a machine polish? And could anyone estimate what a full car detail may cost if I took it to a pro for a day?

Thanks in advance, newb questions I know.

Tom
...RIP: '04 Midnight blue 3.0i roadster... :cry:

...Hello '07 Midnight blue Z4M Coupe! :evil: :evil: :evil:

BeeEmm

Post by BeeEmm » Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:27 pm

Hi Tom. First of all, ditch the sponge. It will only make the paintwork worse. Secondly listen to what the detailer tells you. It seems that you would need at least a stage 1 detail (1 pass with machine polisher) or maybe a stage 2. Not just because of the leaves but your paintwork is bound to be tired if you have not regularly maintained it. As I final step I would certainly recommend a ceramic coating, which will protect better than wax. The cost window is huge depending on what preparation and finish you choose, anywhere between £200 and £1200. If you want to do it yourself there is guidance on this forum and elsewhere on the net. Claying the car will be one of the stages.