Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Which Z4 should I buy?

First port of call for new members
Mono46

Which Z4 should I buy?

Post by Mono46 » Sun Jul 25, 2021 3:51 pm

Afternoon All

Another Newbie here looking to get into Z4's. I've been looking for a while, done some man maths and decided i can now afford to (just)! I really want a 6 cylinder, E85 3.0 Si but my searches have also started heading to mighty M's. Values seem all over the place at the moment.

I've been to look at an M today that's on eBay, for £14,950, with 86k on the clock, the mechanicals look at (it has service history)and drives really well but has some paint around the arches, under the indicator/badges on the side which has been blended in but still visible. Is this sensible money for something that would become a rolling project (I'd look to repaint) or should i pay more now for lower milage/better paint?

Or should i stick with the 3.0Si like i originally intended?

Some advise from folk who have see it, done it and got the T shirt would be appreciated!

Cheers

enuff_zed
Lifer
Lifer

Which Z4 should I buy?

Post by enuff_zed » Sun Jul 25, 2021 4:17 pm

Welcome aboard.
Straight in at the deep end then? :wink:
I confess I've owned neither, but picked up a fair bit of info over the years on the forum.
My thought is that if you can only (just)! afford one then you probably won't afford to do an 'M' justice at this point.
Don't buy the top dog car then ruin it due to lack of maintenance. Buy the next best thing which should be a lot cheaper to run.
HQ of 'Norfolk Zed Rescue'.
Always happy to help if I can.

If the forum helped you, why not help the forum back. Thats the Z4 way! :thumbsup:

Ole gits rule
Lifer
Lifer

Which Z4 should I buy?

Post by Ole gits rule » Sun Jul 25, 2021 4:43 pm

enuff_zed wrote: Sun Jul 25, 2021 4:17 pm Welcome aboard.
Straight in at the deep end then? :wink: