Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

E85 - Now a new owner!

First port of call for new members
abzthemanc

E85 - Now a new owner!

Post by abzthemanc » Fri Jul 23, 2021 10:51 am

Morning all,

Another Z4 Noob here - from Manchester, I don't have one yet but looking for one so thought would come here to get some advice in advance on what to look out for. Currently have a 12 year old E60 525d which I'll be keeping as I have 2 little ones to ferry about, so this will be mostly a weekend ride with the Mrs when the kids are dumped at the Grandparents, or driving to work on the odd day if/when the office opens back up.

Id be looking at an E85, my preference is the 3 litre but there aren't as many about and seem to be priced a bit higher than the 2.5 which there seem to be loads of! I'm sure its probably been debated loads, but apart from the gearbox, is the power difference really noticeable day in day out?

My budget was £5k tops if the ideal spec were to be found, but preferring around £3-4k obviously with some compromises. Currently can only see two 3.0s near manchester and both around £6k!

I've got loads questions which I'll get round to but a few to start,

- is there anything really obvious I can look out for when buying a Z4? I don't mind getting my hands dirty but mechanically speaking apart from the obvious eg rust, roof going up/down - is there anything else I could easily identify?

- I'm a bit risk averse when it comes to cars :rofl: ... is it worth paying for one of those RAC type inspections? I guess for the price of the car its probably not worth it..

- if i get a 2.5 would i really regret not getting the 3.0?!

- is the auto gearbox really that bad? I dont want it but my Mrs hasn't driven a manual for years so is reluctant.. (getting a manual is proving to be a hard sell :x )

Thanks in advance