Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Many simple questions

Specific discussion about the E89 2009 Z4 (sDrive35is, sDrive35i, sDrive30i, sDrive23i)
New2Zed

Many simple questions

Post by New2Zed » Sat Apr 12, 2014 4:09 pm

As my username will tell you I am new to the Z4 and even BMW. Furthermore, I am guilty of not letting you out at junctions, :lol: a sin for which I profoundly apologise as I may well be about to see the light as I am looking for a roadster and the Z4 is now the top of my list.

The model I am looking at is the sDrive 20i M Sport, probably with the auto box and it will be mainly driven by my wife who is more interested in looking good rather than driving fast, hence the smaller engine.

I have studied the official BMW website as well as the various motor mag reviews, have not yet had a test drive but I do have a few questions.

Does the designation 'i Drive' actually have any meaning or refer to anything?

The mag reviewers all seem to shy away from the M Sport configuration on the grounds of a compromised ride, is this really such an issue?

The auto box on this model I believe is not a double clutch arrangement but a seven speed 'sport' box. Anyone any experiences of this gearbox?

And the biggy, run flat tyres. Are they a blessing or a curse. If a curse, can the existing rims take normal tubeless tyres. As I am looking at something around a year old a tyre change might be imminent so the opportunity to switch could be there.

I apologise if any or all of these points are covered already on this forum.
2014 Z4 2.0. (driven by her in doors cos she thinks she looks pretty in it).
Range Rover Evoque (toss up between one of these and an X4)
Alfa Giulia Quadrifoglia

Stark
Lifer
Lifer

Re: Many simple questions

Post by Stark » Sat Apr 12, 2014 4:22 pm