Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Help for a tyre novice please

Alloy wheels and tyre discussion
thanatu55

Post by thanatu55 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:58 pm

So I've took a bit of a schooling from the forum on what NOT to have on my new 19's. However I am a complete novice with next to no clue what I'm doing and scrolling through eBay it's just a load of names and numbers to me. So I'm going to have to ask some basic daft questions and any help would be amazing.

First - Are there certain rules when it comes to picking brands? As in should all tyres be the same brand, or is it ok to have say two Michelin Pilot Sport on the front and two Pirelli P-Zero on the back?

- If that is acceptable and I could get that combo as 225/35/19 Michelin on the front and 255/30/19 Pirelli on the back, all part worn for around £200 is that good / bad ?

I'm under the assumption that it's best to have all the same, yet I've been advised to get good part worn tyres. But if you're looking to get all four same brand tyres from somewhere like Ebay it's almost impossible to find four that match.

Considering the above is my current situation, what advice would you give me?

Thanks

bmwaddict

Post by bmwaddict » Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:52 am

Read some tyre reviews from places such as EVO magazine, etc, the more the better, but ultimately comes down to your budget and what you get on with. I have Bridgestone Potenzas on my current car, and I really don't like them at all, when they're due to be changed I'll go back to what I know and like, either Goodyear Eagle F1s (brilliant in the wet, slightly compromised on all out dry speed) or Michelin Pilot Super Sports (the opposite to the GYs).
As long as you have matching tyres on each axle should be okay, but I'd go for a matching set front and rear if I was you.