How to Wire in a Dash Cam

User avatar
ronk
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 7862
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:50 am
Location: Durham

How to Wire in a Dash Cam

Post by ronk » Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:24 am

obewan wrote:
Wed Jul 26, 2017 1:05 pm
ronk wrote:
Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:42 am
I think that's the best idea.
I'm unsure how to remove the trim from the A pillar and as the car is less than a year old l dont fancy wrecking a bit with brute force and ignorance !
Hi ronk - I routed my cable behind the A pillar - there was enough of a gap to push it behind and out of sight
thread here with pics viewtopic.php?f=5&t=93149
Thanks for the prompt :thumbsup:
You don't stop playing when you get old - You get old when you stop playing !
So I bought a 35is with all the toys to play with. :thumbsup:

Gee
Member
Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:18 pm
Location: Aberdeen

How to Wire in a Dash Cam

Post by Gee » Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:29 pm

Number5 wrote:
Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:28 pm
Gee wrote:
Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:57 pm
Darn photobucket! I don't suppose anybody was able to rescue a copy of the guide and pictures before the hosting went down?
I've now added as many pics back in as I can, as attachments. However 10 is the maximum I can add, so I have a had to lose 1 or 2.

I hope that helps, especially identifying the wire you need to connect into.
Many thanks :thumbsup:
2004 Alpina Roadster S

davros
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 11:09 am

How to Wire in a Dash Cam

Post by davros » Sat Aug 26, 2017 6:10 pm

Just want to pass on my thanks for this excellent write-up and guide. I now have a working dash cam without unsightly cables everywhere :thumbsup:
3.0i E85 Sterling Grey, 108's, xenons, professional hi-fi with dsp & nav, power mirrors. Now with DLV backbox & roof motor relocation, M3 Sports Seats with heat & power, cruise and hope to add other mods in near future...... :)

User avatar
Number5
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 4124
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 7:34 pm
Location: Bristol & Swansea

How to Wire in a Dash Cam

Post by Number5 » Sat Aug 26, 2017 8:59 pm

davros wrote:
Sat Aug 26, 2017 6:10 pm
Just want to pass on my thanks for this excellent write-up and guide. I now have a working dash cam without unsightly cables everywhere :thumbsup:
:thumbsup: You're welcome
Silver Alpina Roadster S Lux (#019)
2005 Sterling Roadster 2.5 SE with red reather
Daily: F11 520d M Sport Auto
Previous
Z4 Roadsters:- i) 2004, 2.5SE, ii) 2003, 3.0SE, iii) 2006, 2.5SE iv) 2004 3.0SE.

User avatar
Danny_gartside
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:00 am
X-Box live gamer tag: danny_gartside
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Contact:

How to Wire in a Dash Cam

Post by Danny_gartside » Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:20 pm

I'm about to fit a nextbase dash cam in the same location but I want a permanent live up there as the camera goes to sleep when there is no ignition but wakes up if some dingbat bumps you... It just keeps the battery back up topped up.

So the question is, is there a live feed up there
If I Zeding i'll probably be KTMing

User avatar
JINGLE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 2091
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:20 pm
Location: Norwich, Norfolk

How to Wire in a Dash Cam

Post by JINGLE » Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:02 pm

Not sure personally, but the "clowns nose" does constantly blink so I assume that's always live?
Image

Smurfalot
Member
Member
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Witham, Essex.

How to Wire in a Dash Cam

Post by Smurfalot » Sun Oct 15, 2017 2:47 pm

I haven't read all of the above, but when I installed my dash cam in my old e85, the camera constantly drained from the battery. So whilst I was using the car back and forth to work, everything was cool. As soon as I was off sick for 3 days, the battery was totally dead. Just a heads up.
Now :D sdrive 30i, silver, black leather, 19" wheels
Gone :cry: 2.0i sport. Black. Black Piano trim. Black Leather.

Jamesw
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 6:28 pm

How to Wire in a Dash Cam

Post by Jamesw » Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:47 am

Taz wrote:
Sat Aug 29, 2015 7:41 pm
on a coupe its an easy job to wire it direct to the fuse box
Just about to buy a Viofo a119s . Would you mind expanding on this briefly?
Z4 Coupe, 58 plate, black, love it :driving:

User avatar
Taz
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 19290
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:56 pm
Location: Saddleworth

How to Wire in a Dash Cam

Post by Taz » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:49 am

I will post some pics weekend

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests