Tom Tom Mount

Post Reply
Bumpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:13 am
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

Tom Tom Mount

Post by Bumpy » Mon Apr 02, 2012 10:53 pm

Hey ... I don't have Nav, but I enjoy My Tom Tom.
So that resulted in causing two problems for me and my Z.
1. Where / How to mount the thing?
2. How / Where to wire it?

Solutions evolved over time.
Tom Tom comes with an adhesive disc and a window mount.
Not much room on the window.
I first stuck the disc on the dash. It was only a temporary choice til I figured out something better.
I considered the vent mount adapters but it took a while to locate exactly what I wanted.
I found an older cell phone mount (marked down) and I JB Welded (epoxy) the disc to that mount with some modification required.
Image
Image

I was happy with what I got but overbuilt with the addition of some Velcro to act as additional stability support.
Image
So Far so good. I can remove it quickly and easily when Im concerned about theft.

Wiring.
Well Im still considering splicing into the light located in the glovebox.
And it might be better if I could fish the wiring through the back of the AC vents.
Im still not sure why Tom Tom's cable has to be so thick.
I located a less intrusive (low profile) cigarette lighter power plug at Canadian Tire.
And the retractable, much smaller gauge cable in California, from Ebay for about $6 usd ..
Image
Im happy with the results and I can easily upgrade as technology improves.
Image
Last edited by Bumpy on Thu Apr 05, 2012 12:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
andysat
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 16731
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: Tom Tom Mount

Post by andysat » Mon Apr 02, 2012 11:11 pm

Hi was thinking about hard wiring my Tom Tom into my zed,but i only really use it a few weeks of the year and can put up with the wire being seen for that short period.
Image
Gone but not forgotten.
New ride silver e93.

Bumpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:13 am
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

Re: Tom Tom Mount

Post by Bumpy » Mon Apr 02, 2012 11:41 pm

Hi Andysat ....
Im trying to post some pics of this mod ...Dang I got it to work a few days ago. Now all Im getting is the text address
:( John

User avatar
Taz
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 19371
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:56 pm
Location: Saddleworth

Re: Tom Tom Mount

Post by Taz » Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:13 am

i have a piano dash and find my tom tom fastens well there, the cable i can live with

slightly off topic, my tom tom is playing up, not getting sat nav signal urghhhhhhhh

User avatar
gannet
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 10052
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Surrey

Re: Tom Tom Mount

Post by gannet » Tue Apr 03, 2012 2:01 pm

Taz x wrote:i have a piano dash and find my tom tom fastens well there, the cable i can live with

slightly off topic, my tom tom is playing up, not getting sat nav signal urghhhhhhhh
Think this might be your problem Taz?

Leap year bug - TomTom
-- Gannet.
Current: MINI JCW... - Modification: Driver Upgraded :D
Previous: DS3 DSport, Z4 3.0SE, 206 GTi & XS, Alfa 147 Lusso

User avatar
Taz
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 19371
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:56 pm
Location: Saddleworth

Re: Tom Tom Mount

Post by Taz » Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:54 pm

gannet wrote:
Taz x wrote:i have a piano dash and find my tom tom fastens well there, the cable i can live with

slightly off topic, my tom tom is playing up, not getting sat nav signal urghhhhhhhh
Think this might be your problem Taz?

Leap year bug - TomTom

nope, my sat nav will not work when its outside the car, I am about to try and find the receipt and send it back

edit, i thought you was referring to me having it mounted on the dash rather than in the window, just read Leap year bug - TomTom
Last edited by Taz on Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gannet
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 10052
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Surrey

Re: Tom Tom Mount

Post by gannet » Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:57 pm

Taz x wrote:
gannet wrote:
Taz x wrote:i have a piano dash and find my tom tom fastens well there, the cable i can live with

slightly off topic, my tom tom is playing up, not getting sat nav signal urghhhhhhhh
Think this might be your problem Taz?

Leap year bug - TomTom

nope, my sat nav will not work when its outside the car, I am about to try and find the receipt and send it back
where does it say about inside/outside the car :?

more details Here...

or was yours faulty before 31st March ?

edit - oops crossed posts :oops:
-- Gannet.
Current: MINI JCW... - Modification: Driver Upgraded :D
Previous: DS3 DSport, Z4 3.0SE, 206 GTi & XS, Alfa 147 Lusso

Bumpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:13 am
Location: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

Re: Tom Tom Mount

Post by Bumpy » Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:04 am

Just a bump cause Ive added the pics...

Cheers eh !
John

User avatar
andysat
Lifer
Lifer
Posts: 16731
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: Tom Tom Mount

Post by andysat » Thu Apr 05, 2012 8:27 pm

:thumbsup:
Image
Gone but not forgotten.
New ride silver e93.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests